Meteor Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year 2014

Meteor Choice Music Prize

Irish Album of the Year 2014

10th Anniversary Events Announced

The shortlist for this year’s Meteor Choice Music Prize, Irish Album Of The Year 2014, in association with IMRO & IRMA, will be announced on Wednesday, January 7th 2015.

The winning album will be announced at the Meteor Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 5th March 2015.

To celebrate the 10th Anniversary of the Prize, there will be a series of special events. The first of these will take place in November in Cork and Galway and will feature three Meteor Choice Music Prize winning acts sharing a stage for the first time. Each night will feature the uniquely different and unarguably idiosyncratic talents of Villagers and Jape plus a third Music Prize winner who shall be revealed soon.

Details of a special 10th Anniversary event in Dublin in Spring 2015 will be also be announced soon. Planning is underway to mark the occasion of 10 years of the prize.

Villagers won the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2013 with {Awayland}. The Ivor Novello winning Conor O’ Brien is the first Irish artist to be nominated for the Mercury Prize on two consecutive albums and is currently busy working on his third.

Jape (Richie Egan) is the only artist to have won the Meteor Choice Music Prize twice (for Ritual in 2008 and Ocean Of Frequency in 2011). Currently residing in Sweden, Richie (who was a founding member of contemporary Irish guitar band The Redneck Manifesto) is renowned for his production work and remixes of other bands as he is for his own brand of beats-driven elecro-rock music.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize events will take place on:

Sunday 23rd November – Cyprus Avenue, Cork
Monday 24th November – Roisin Dubh, Galway

Tickets for these events will be free and will be available to Meteor customers via and also via competitions on and

Lisa Comerford, Meteor’s Head of Brand & Communications, said: The Meteor Choice Music Prize has been a great event to be involved in for the past three years. Next year marks the milestone of 10 years of the Meteor Choice Music Prize and we are delighted to kick off the celebrations by rewarding Meteor customers with two exclusive gigs headlined by previous winners, Jape and Villagers, in Cork and Galway. With so many strong contributions from Irish acts this year, we’re really looking forward to the announcement of the shortlist for Album of the Year in early January, starting the build up to the Live Event in Vicar Street which is, without doubt, the landmark event in Ireland’s music calendar.”

The 10th annual Meteor Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

RAAP, Culture Ireland, HMV Xtra-vision & Music Week are also official project partners.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize website has published a list of Irish albums released to date in 2014. This list can be viewed and updated by logging onto

The shortlist for The Meteor Choice Music Prize – Irish Song Of The Year 2014 will be also be announced in January 2015.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize live event will be broadcast live on Today FM in a special four hour extended programme during the Paul McLoone show.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: